Moody-Stuart Scholarships in Turkish Studies

Applications are invited for the Moody-Stuart Scholarships in Turkish Studies. Two scholarships of £5,000 each will be awarded annually for a period of six months to be spent in Turkey learning and/or improving Turkish and/or Ottoman and undertaking research in archives, libraries or academic centres. In part fulfilment of the terms of the scholarship, holders of the scholarships will be expected to undertake formal language training during their time in Turkey.

The scholarships are open to registered Ph.D. students of Cambridge University. Successful candidates must submit a report of between 1,000 and 1,500 words after the completion of their six-month period of research in Turkey. Applications should be made using the application form, which may be downloaded here, and which should be sent, together with a current c.v. to the Director (, by the 1st of May every year. The applicant should also arrange for two academic letters of reference to reach the Director by the same date.

We will use the information provided by you in the application you make and from the references you supply for the purposes of selection only.  We will treat all personal information with the utmost confidentiality and in line with current data protection legislation.  The legal basis for processing your personal data is that it is necessary in order for you to enter into a scholarship agreement with us.  If you are successful in your application, the data is subsequently held as part of your scholarship record with us for the duration of your scholarship.  A record of all those who have held a scholarship is retained permanently and may be used in publicity for the Skilliter Centre.  If you are unsuccessful in your application, we retain all data and information for no more than twelve months after the closing date of the application process.  The person responsible for data protection within the Skilliter Centre is the Bursar [].

Recent Moody-Stuart Scholars are

  • Anna Sobers (2007)
  • Erol Baykal (2008)
  • Will Smiley (2009)
  • Alexander Kentikelenis (2011)
  • Charlie Laderman (2013)
  • Sebastian Haug (2016)
  • Yuxuan Cai (2022)
  • Aristide Chryssoulis (2022)